Gathering No Moss

From one project right into the next–I downloaded the trial versions of iClone Pro 5 and 3DXchange, which only give me 30 days to figure out whether or not I can learn this platform. Yikes! So I’ve been practicing round the clock. My laptop might be permanently attached to my knees by now. Anybody know a good surgeon in case I need it removed?

So far, I’m loving every aspect of this 3D animation tool. It’s a powerhouse. Comparing it to a game engine like Sims 2 is rouqhly akin to comparing Microsoft Paint to Adobe Photoshop CS5. Or tin cans and a string to a Smartphone.

I’ve found no real disadvantages yet. Of course, I’ve only learned to skin new characters and just yesterday finally figured out how to make them move. So to say I have no issues with the platform is a bit premature. Still, though–I’m getting some pretty impressive results. I’ve included screenshots in this post of characters I designed based on real human actors. I may never be the world’s best at photoaccuracy when it comes to texturing these puppets. However, the improvement over Sims 2 in visual and animation quality–even with my clumsy efforts–is amazing.

One thing I don’t like is the hair currently available for iClone puppets. I’m confident that I can overcome this by creating my own meshes, and I cobbled together one or two for these characters just to see if it could be done. The answer is yes. The trial version of 3DXchange, however, only allows 12 exports. Which means I can’t tweak and tinker with the meshes enough to get them right. For now, it’s a one-shot deal. This will cease to be an issue once I purchase the full version of 3DXchange, which of course has no such limitations. Then I can fully customize props, puppets, and every accessory I can dream up–even legally sell those items to other users. How cool is that?

Another great thing about iClone is the willingness of its creators to facilitate customization. With Sims 2, it took an entire community of hackers several years to provide us with tools to “build our world,” as the SimPe splash screen says. With iClone, all this information is published by the copyright holder. For example, in one of the tutorials offered by Reallusion (the creators of iClone), we learn that iclone puppet bodies take their shading from a 10X10 pixel square located in the top left corner of their texture map. So if you want to alter the skin shading of the puppet, alter the color of the pixels within that 10X10 region. This is from the “horse’s mouth,” the Reallusion animation and graphic artists themselves.

I uploaded a very short video to YouTube so I can show everyone how these characters move. Keep in mind, because this is a trial version, I’m restricted to a certain resolution (size), can’t anti-alias (smooth the edges of puppets and props so they don’t look pixellated), and there’s an ugly iClone watermark all over the rendered video. My camera work is sloppy, the background is a featureless demo, and I didn’t set the facial animations to this puppet’s unique bone structure because I don’t know how yet. So her smile looks a wee bit goofy. Still, though–not as goofy as Sims in their natural state.

Hopefully, in six months I’ll look back at this first rendered video from iClone and laugh at how amateurish it is. šŸ™‚

11 responses to “Gathering No Moss

  1. Hey. That sounds like my Star Wars comments — the cutting edge, dazzling special effects of 1980 became laughing stock, crude, outdated technology when George Lucas released the second trilogy. BUT, what you’re doing today looks *great* — love it, Rhonda! — and love your updates. Keep ’em coming.

  2. Nice! Can’t wait to see what you have in store for us! You can also make custom motions with Xbox Kinetics Motion capture!

  3. Sharon Spencer Schlesinger

    Looking from the outside in I’m entralled with what you’re doing. Love watching your craft unfold. Waiting for the next iteration.
    Sharon

  4. Hey! You’ve been busy today. That right hand side of the page looks good, Rhonda. Easy to find all your links and archives. Woo hoo!

  5. One more suggestion: it’d be nice to see the YouTube link to the machinima, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nzfISrnr7WQ on this page, unless this too is “embedded” and thus you won’t rack up viewer numbers. I like to see a home page with all the big stuff spelled out. šŸ™‚ Soon, soon, I want to see “WINNER” of the whatever contest emblazoned on the home page.

    • Hmm. Machinima links in the sidebar? I only have one more widget left with this Coraline WordPress theme–not sure that’s the best use for it. Especially since the links are indeed embedded, so the problem of uncounted views still applies. But I might be able to add a regular menu or something. . .let me look into it.

  6. Love what you’re doing. Keep up the good work. How exciting to create real characters this way. Now, as to the problem with the laptop attached to your knees: Have you tried a herbal remedy? Maybe garlic would do the trick.

    • Actually, yesterday I discovered that piping hot coffee spilled down the bosom did the trick. I launched off the sofa with steaming t-shirt held away from skin, laptop landed safely on ottoman. All is well!

      Francene, you’re a riot. šŸ˜‰

  7. Awesome! Loved seeing the vid. šŸ˜€

  8. Thank you, Cherry! I hope you saw the more recent posts, too, as I make progress with this software. I’m well into the process of filming my next project, which is a book trailer for Amanda Borenstadt’s novel. I’m glad you stopped by, glad you commented. Hope to see you here again in the future! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

