Yahoos and Googles

Yahoo! Great news on the writing front! Ann Hite, a writing group friend and undeniably one of the most gifted authors in the publishing world, told me today that she has been nominated for 2012 Georgia Writer of the Year. How cool is that? GO ANN!

While far from elevating me to award status on any front, my blog stats show an amazing trend. Most of the random hits I receive are from searches related to iClone. A few days ago, while Googling for information about a Reallusion plugin for 3DS Max, I discovered why. This blog ranks very high in search returns, especially with certain keywords. I was astonished to see “Meet Finn” landing fifth in the returns for one search, and “Dem Bones” fifth in the returns for another. Omigosh! This is incredible. . .and a little humbling. People I don’t know are actually finding and reading this blog. So I’m more inspired than ever to keep cranking out the posts, and trusting my subscribers to sort the ones that interest them from the ones that don’t.

For people who find me via iClone search, I want to make it absolutely clear that I DO NOT consider myself an “expert” when it comes to 3D animation or content creation. In fact, that idea is the polar opposite of the one that prompted me to start this blog. I’m teaching myself a hobby that interests me and airing all my goofy beginner mistakes in hopes that A) they will entertain and amuse, and B) they will give others beginners hope, because if a technophobe like me can learn this stuff, surely they can, too.

3DS Max continues to astound me. It’s a scary-powerful tool. Just tonight I learned about the “pelt” UV unwrap feature. It blew my mind. Yes, techies, go ahead and laugh. Doesn’t hurt my feelings one bit. Do I feel like an idiot for not knowing about pelt mapping before now? Uhh. . .nope. I’ve only owned 3DS Max since December. From just the bit of surface I’ve scratched so far, I’m becoming convinced that there’s no way one person can be completely proficient with all of its aspects anyway. It simply does too much.

So if you found me in an iClone-related search, I’m sorry to say I probably won’t qualify as a source for any useful information. But I do welcome you to hang around and watch me stumble through the learning curve. And hopefully, this wave of interest by writers all over the world will continue to build into a tsunami, opening doors for machinima that will mean a bigger audience for you, too. Now wouldn’t that be awesome?

4 responses to “Yahoos and Googles

  1. Humility alert! Ignore this: //…I DO NOT consider myself an “expert” when it comes to 3D animation or content creation…I’m teaching myself a hobby that interests me and airing all my goofy beginner mistakes in hopes that A) they will entertain and amuse, and B) they will give others beginners hope, because if a technophobe like me can learn this stuff, surely they can, too.// Well, beginner or not, you have worked hard and mastered a LOT of stuff, Rhonda, and a lot of people can only shake their heads and wonder how you did it. You really can teach. The question is – do you have time to?

  2. Hey, thanks for the ego boost, Carol! I’m actually quite comfortable with my progress in 3D modeling and animation, comfortable enough to share it with the world. But compared to the true masters who might accidentally happen upon my blog. . .hoo, boy. There are some tutorials out there that leave my head spinning. HOW do people KNOW all this stuff? I’m going to send you a private message with a link to the pelt mapping tutorial I found this afternoon. It’s eight minutes long, but if you want a real head trip, there it is. And yes, I am at this very moment doing exactly what the tutorial says to do with the wingtip shoes I made for Amanda’s character Tom. If you smell something burning, it’s surely my brain cells.

  3. I’m so pleased for you. Your learning experience will inspire others I’m sure.

    Also, that’s great news for Ann Hite. Wow! So many good things ar hapening amongst the friends who met on Internet Writers Workshop.

  4. Yes, Francene, that is true. After a long dry spell, our little group from IWW is reporting nothing but good news!

Leave a Reply

