Even More Impressed With iClone

Just when I think I’ve learned how powerful iClone truly is, I find that I didn’t know the half of it.

All the meshing business aside, when it finally came time to pull my hard work into iClone and make a real character out of it, I have to say I was beyond impressed. Let me show you what I mean.

The first screenshot is the same Tom you saw in my Feb 22 post, except now he’s sitting on a bench I made today for Amanda’s trailer.  I’ve uploaded this pic for contrast with the next one:

As anyone who has read Amanda’s novel Syzygy knows, Tom goes through some stuff during the course of the story. Therefore it’s logical and appropriate that his appearance would deteriorate. I had no idea if I’d be able to bring this across in iClone. In the machinima based on Carol Kean’s Stonehaven (produced using The Sims 2), I was able to degrade Romany’s appearance to some degree. But wow! iClone gives me an incredible amount of control. I was able to not only “paint” bruises and eye bags on the skin texture image, but I was able to make the face shape more gaunt. Here’s how that turned out:

For a side by side comparison:

I’ve also figured out how to match the skin from the face to the skin from the neck and make the hands and feet blend convincingly. This resulted in a darkening of the overall skin tone on the “shaggy” Tom. I can correct that, but I want Amanda to see this version first. There’s a reason (and I won’t say it because of plot spoilers) that a more suntanned Tom might be appropriate for those particular scenes.

One last screenshot is a closeup of Tom’s hands, which are standard G5 hands not altered or customized by me in any way. The reason I’m including this pic is to show the fine detail rendered in iClone. Some of you might remember the frustration I experienced when trying to mesh a severed hand for Stonehaven. I couldn’t use a Sims 2 hand at all because it was lacking detail to the point that, at close range, one couldn’t even tell it was a hand. But boy-oh-boy, is that ever NOT an issue with iClone. From the fingernails right down to the veining, these hands look fantastic.

I promise I won’t make a new post every time I accomplish something in iClone. But sometimes I just can’t help it. 🙂

5 responses to “Even More Impressed With iClone

  1. Wow!! Those hands – you’ve come a long way, baby. 🙂 And the eyes, the faces, the postures – it’s like leaving the fast, clipped B&W silent films to full color, full sound and smooth motion. This is so cool!!!

  2. No, no, keep posting! //I promise I won’t make a new post every time I accomplish something in iClone. But sometimes I just can’t help it. // I’m in awe of what you learn and do.

  3. Hey, I’m in awe, too. That’s why I keep posting about this stuff. I completely get your analogy about black & white silent films vs. full color and stereo sound. And that’s what keeps me slogging forward, even when the technical details cause my poor brain to blow a fuse.

  4. This is wonderful. I’m happy to read about each of your new learning adventures.

  5. You’re doing great! It’s fun to master new technology.

Leave a Reply

