Amanda’s Book Trailer–Progress At Last

Wow. It’s been so long since I updated this blog that I’ve all but forgotten how to do it. Let’s see. . .open that menu, click that tab. . . now, how the heck do I. . . .

Okay. I have excuses. One of them is an injured left wrist that has hindered my typing for weeks. I never thought fingers could be too weak to press laptop keys, short of a complete fracture. But guess what? A Grade II sprain can do the same thing. And maybe it’s just me, but seems like it’s taking much longer to heal than a bone break. I’ve had a few of those.

So how did it happen? I was walking in the yard. No, seriously. Just walking, across the driveway. And suddenly my brain lost its connection with my feet and down I went–a random neurological hiccup. Welcome to life with lupus and all the body systems it can wreck.

My other excuse is of the much happier sort. Amanda’s book trailer! Boy oh boy, am I ever making progress on that one. She has been able to view some initial footage now, and it’s going so well both of us can barely stand it. Luckily, most of the work involved with production is done by clicking the mouse, not pecking the keyboard. So I’ve spent less time with the social networks lately and more time with my nose to the 3D grind. And I am definitely starting to see this project take shape.

Amanda gave me permission to share some still images from the set, so rather than continue pecking, I think I’ll make a few mouse clicks and upload them for you to see. Stay tuned for the official release!

(Remember, Amanda, that you share rights to these images and can use them in any way you see fit. No need to clear it with me. I will send you the larger resolution files if you need them.)

This is not the complete cast, but it’s most of them. Those of you who’ve read Syzygy–see if you know who’s who!

This next pic will show you just how much detail is possible with use of a high resolution texture map. Right down to the pores in her skin, “Lizzy” comes to life. (From this blog, double clicking on the photos allows you to maximize them for a better look. They showed up full size in notifier that landed in my email inbox.)
<

So here's Bea in her kitchen, surfing around on her pink laptop. In the video, Sam sits at the bar beside her, eating ice cream and reading the owner's manual for a 66 Mustang. I had to remove him to take this picture because he was blocking the shot. We'll pretend he got up to use the little boy's room or something.

The view from Bea’s kitchen window.

More of the kitchen. I included this shot because it shows how I can work with different types of surfaces, like the glass of the spice jars and coffee carafe as opposed to the matte surface of the fruit. 3DS Max rocks. So does iClone for recognizing the difference.

Finn’s cluttery desk. Again, the details! Right down to all the tiny circuitry on the scrap motherboard.

A wider view of Finn’s room. The left half of the picture is virtually empty because it doesn’t get framed by the camera in the video. No sense gumming up the scene with extra face count, which slows the processor down considerably.

Thanks for reading!

9 responses to “Amanda’s Book Trailer–Progress At Last

  1. LOVE IT!!!!
    It’s so funny because every time we look at the shots one of my kids is so amazed that Bea has the same microwave oven that we do. 🙂
    It’s all so amazingly realistic! I love it all and my characters look how I pictured them. My babies! 🙂 LOL
    Thank you so much for bringing them to life! I’m so sorry about your wrist. You’re such a trooper!

  2. The same microwave? That’s too funny! Most of the time I’m at the mercy of whatever high quality photograph I can find to use. That was the best front-on, high res picture of a microwave I could find.

    Other times, I have an advantage. Have you, by the way, taken a close look at Bea’s coffee mug? You can see it better in the video I sent you the other day. 😉

  3. It’s my Syzygy book logo! I hadn’t noticed. LOL What a cool touch! My niece is going to be so thrilled. 🙂
    I guess I was too busy trying to read Sam’s ice cream carton to notice before. I called the twins in to show them and they’re all, “We already noticed that.” Kids! Better eyes, I guess.

  4. LOL! Yeah, the ice cream is Ben and Jerry’s Peace Of Cake. It’s the only one of any brand that I could find photos of the carton, lid, and ice cream itself. Guess I could have gone to the store, bought a carton for real, and let Scott take the picture with his big fancy camera. . . .

  5. Well, whatever works. LOL I just love it all. It’s like a real little doll’s house. I keep going back and staring at the details now. 🙂 And looking out their windows! I didn’t notice that before. It gets more amazing each time!

  6. Great details. They’re fantastic. Funny, I was just thinking of you this morning and wondering if you’ve stopped work. I even composed a mental message. Hehe. When I opened my computer, there was your message. Anyway, well done with this. You’ve worked through your pain and created something wonderful.

  7. Hi, Francene! Good to hear from you. Nope, I haven’t stopped work on the trailer. It keeps me sane. 🙂

  8. Wow, this is really amazing, the skin texture, the reflection on the laptop screen. Fantastic work!

  9. Thank you, Edith! We should probably do some private chatting about upcoming projects, ya think? 😉 Time’s flying for me.

Leave a Reply

