“S” is for “Service”

The “A to Z Blogging Challenge” is a train that left the station without me this year. But since I follow several bloggers who participated, I know that today is “S” day. And guess what? I have an “S” topic to share, even if I’m not officially part of the challenge. Granted, it’s a topic that will be of little interest to some of you, but for the machinimators who stumble across my blog on their search for nuggets of truth about Reallusion and iClone. . .keep reading. I have a goldmine of personal experience to share.

A few nights ago, while flipping through the TV channels, my husband Scott and I caught the Blue Collar comedians in reprise with the “Them Idiots Whirled Tour.” Say what you will about our tastes in entertainment, but yes. It was good for a few laughs.

I particularly enjoyed Bill Engvall’s recount of an experience he had with a satellite TV provider’s customer service department. Or rather, with the disembodied, computerized voice that has replaced it. Yeah, you and I both know the voice he meant. You state, “I have a billing question.” And the polite-sounding robot voice replies, “I heard you say, ‘I have a heel impression.’ Is that right?”

Bill Engvall declined to identify the satellite TV provider whose robot he cussed, but he did assure us that it “wasn’t indirect.” We hear you, Bill. I’ve had the same problem with Time Warner Cable. And Verizon. And several other behemoth service providers who forgot that they were supposed to actually be providing a service.

But Thursday night I had a different kind of experience. By now, all of my regular followers know I’m up to my eyeballs in an iClone project that will (hopefully) result in a book trailer for Amanda Borenstadt’s novel Syzygy. Every now and then I realize I haven’t purchased all the software or accessory devices I need to actually make this happen, and sometimes those items must come from Reallusion Marketplace, the third party vending site of company that develops and sells iClone products.

I won’t bore you with the details of the mess I made of an order Thursday night, but it involved money and stupidity—namely my own. I made a big mistake during the order process that resulted in my being unable to download the product. Not sure if I should puke or panic, I dashed off an email to Reallusion customer support and resigned myself to waiting days (weeks?) for a response that might not even be helpful.

Surprise! Within a couple hours, I received a message from “Jollen” at Reallusion Inc. Technical Support. Not only was Jollen polite and personable, but very effective at resolving my problem. I have not experienced customer service like this from any company or any provider for so long that I’d forgotten how it feels to be satisfied with an outcome.

If you are on the fence about investing in iClone or any other Reallusion product, I don’t mind giving you a little push in their direction. I have not only been pleased with the products themselves, I have been blown away by the powerhouse that is iClone5. Even more, there is an arsenal of free tutorials offered on the Reallusion home site that are straightforward enough for even a legendary technophobe like me to follow. And then there’s the customer service. . .real humans using real brains to provide real support for outstanding products. You just can’t get any better than that.

2 responses to ““S” is for “Service”

  1. Rhonda! How have I missed so many of your blogs?? I love them all!

  2. I have no idea, but I’m glad you found them now! 🙂

Leave a Reply

