Two Hours, Three Cups of Coffee, and Four Ibuprofen

No, I’m not going to blog about my struggles with lupus. But the moment those words fell out of my mouth, I knew I’d have to use them some way, some how, as a title for some thing. They were my deadpan response to my rheumatologist’s question: “How long does it take for you to shake the stiffness and pain every morning?” Yeah, well. . .that one-liner pretty much sums it up.

The real reason I’m blogging today is to post a link to a video produced using iClone, the animation tool I’m trying to master. I don’t know the creator of this little film, but it is a wonderful example of what can be accomplished with the software. Kudos to “norte43” for this very well-done machinima.

You don’t have to like Michael Jackson’s song “Thriller” or even watch the entire 2:45 second clip to appreciate the possibilities. You don’t have to relish the macabre or bizarre to understand how many ways this technology can translate. The variety of characters, the smoothness of the animation, the lighting and camera work—all of that is native iClone5 and it is exactly what I’m striving to emulate in realistic production. This machinima was created by a true master of the craft; my work is not up to this standard yet. But it will be, if I keep my nose to the grind and stay focused. I need the Kinect and MoCap technology to achieve the seamless, realistic animation you’ll see here. But I’m saving my pennies and dimes, and one day soon I’ll be able to boast production work that is on par with this little dance video. I would love to deliver book trailers that match this video in quality and execution. That is my goal.

Enjoy!
(You can skip forward to the 15 second mark to see what impressed me so much.)

6 responses to “Two Hours, Three Cups of Coffee, and Four Ibuprofen

  1. Wow, that was just amazing!

  2. Yeah, I think so too, Chrystie. It doesn’t matter if we like or don’t like the content of that video (not something I’d watch “just because”) but you can’t ignore the quality of the production. Especially if you know anything at all about real time 3D animation. Hey. . .what happened to that guest blog post? 😉

  3. Thanks for your comments

  4. Hey, no problem, norte43. Your work here is an inspiration for me. 🙂

  5. The fluidity of movement the iclones achieve is amazing, seamless. Oh, Rhonda. I hope you can achieve this. You sit in your chair, girl. If you never do another thing, your health difficulty will be worth the pain.

  6. Like a hen on eggs, I sit, Francene. LOL! But yes, that’s the attitude I’m taking. If I’m going to be a lump, I might as well be a productive lump. And the writing I can accomplish, plus this adventure with 3D animation, promises to rival anything I’ve done when spry and healthy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

